System of a Down, an album review

An album review written by: Lee Sonogan

40:36 (1998) Alternative metal, nu metal, speed metal

Image result for system of a down first album

I sit, in my desolate room, no lights, no music, Just anger! I’ve killed everyone Run away forever, but I’m feeling better, How do I feel, What do I say, Fuck you, it all goes away! How do I feel, What do I say? Fuck you, it all goes away! How do I feel, What do I say? In the end it all goes away. – Sugar, System of a Down

The debut studio album by heavy metal band System of a Down. Within two years, this album would be certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America. Another two years after their second album, Toxicity (Which I have already reviewed on this blog.) This album went platinum. The album was regarded highly by fans and music critics alike.

Tracklist for this album:
  • Suite-Pee
  • Know
  • Sugar
  • Suggestions
  • Spiders
  • DDevil
  • Soil
  • War?
  • Peephole
  • CUBErt
  • Darts
  • P.L.U.C.K

SOAD started off strong with their first album. I would recommend nearly all the songs if you like the type of music. These old songs of theirs are still played when the band tours live. It may be the rawest album by System of a Down, still, it keeps consistent energy. Great underlining subject matter like all System of a Down Songs. This album is rich in quality in all areas while being an underrated album for sure. I have listened to this album multiple times and I recommend listening to it and judging it for yourself.


The spiders all in tune, The evening of the moon, Dreams are made winding through my head – Spiders, System of a Down
Please watch my new short film below and tell me what you think?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.